2017 HELM PhD Scholars

This past Fall 2017, Higher Education & Leadership Ministries named 9 doctoral students as recipients of either the Ann E. Dickerson Scholarship or the William Gilbert & Florence Leonard Jones Scholarship.

The Dickerson Scholarship honors Ann E. Dickerson who was elected Vice-Moderator of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in August 1975. A member of the faculty of Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee, she died in October 1975, shortly after receiving her Ph.D. from the University of Illinois. This scholarship is awarded to female members of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) pursuing a Ph.D. in religion.

The William Gilbert and Florence Leonard Jones scholarship recognizes members of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) working towards a Ph.D. in religion, who are also currently ordained or preparing for ordination in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), and who intend to provide leadership to a congregation or other agency of the church.

The recipients for the 2017-2018 academic year include:

Ann E. Dickerson Scholars

(From left to right)
  • Toni Bond Leonard, Claremont School of Theology, Religion, Ethics & Society
  • Miseon Choi, Claremont School of Theology, Practical Theology
  • Lydia Hernández-Marcial, Lutheran School of Theology, Bible Studies/Hebrew Bible
  • Leah Laird, Claremont School of Theology, Hebrew Bible
  • Ruth Schulenberg, Brite Divinity School, Pastoral Theology

William Gilbert and Florence Leonard Jones Scholars

(from left to right)
  • Nestor A. Gómez Morales, University of Denver/Iliff School of Theology, Religion and Social Change
  • José Morales Torres, Claremont School of Theology, Comparative Theology and Philosophy
  • Andrew Packman, the Divinity School at the University of Chicago, Theology
  • Laura Jean Torgerson, Graduate Theological Union, Interdisciplinary Studies

For more information about these scholarships, including application process, visit: helmdisciples.org/scholarships